A user’s access to IndustrySafe is controlled by two settings: the user’s User Level and the Hierarchy the user is assigned to.  A user level controls a users access to modules and recording forms (none, read only, or Add/Edit), reports, email alerts, and user roles.

Adding or Renaming a User Level

To add or rename a user level follow the steps below.

  1. Go to System Functions > Users > Add/Edit Levels.
  2. On this screen you may click the Add button to add a new user level.
  3. You may also change the name or status of an existing user level.
  4. Select the Save button when you are done making your changes.
  5. By default, a new user level will not grant users access to anything until you follow the steps in the next section.

Modify a User Level

To modify the permissions associated with an existing user level follow the steps below.

  1. Go to System Functions > Users > Add/Edit Levels.
  2. Click on the Edit link next to the user level you wish to modify.
  3. Modify the permissions described below and select the Save button.

Ability to Delete

Specify whether users should be able to delete records.  Generally this type of permission is limited to Administrators.

Ability to Reopen
Specify whether users should be able to reopen records that have been closed (locked and made read only).  Generally this type of permission is limited to Administrators or Managers.

Modify Corrective Action Assignment
If this permission is set to No, users with access to the corrective actions recording form will not be able to modify the Responsible Party or Estimated Completion date once they have been set.

User Roles
Select the user roles that apply to this user level.

Investigator – If this user role is selected, users with this user level will be listed in the Investigator drop-down menus on the Inspection, Hazard, and Corrective Actions Recording Forms.

JSA Analyst  -If this user role is selected, users with this user level will be listed in the Analysis Done By drop-down menus on the JSA Recording Form

Responsible Party – If this user role is selected, users with this user level will be listed in the responsible party drop-down menus in Corrective Actions. The Responsible Party for a corrective action is sent an automatic email alert when the corrective action is assigned, as well as before and after it is due.  These users will also be listed in the Manager drop-down menu in Inspections. Users are sent periodic emails summarizing the results of all the inspections where they are identified as the manager.

Instructor – If this user role is selected, users with this user level will be listed in the Instructor drop-down menus on the Class Schedule form in the Training module.

HIPPA – If this user role is selected, users with this user level will be able to see the names of employees who have been injured when looking at incident forms and reports. If this option is not selected “Private” will be displayed instead of the employee’s name when the user views a form or report for an incident involving an employee injury.

Email Alerts
Select the email alerts that users with this user level should receive.  Users will only be sent email alerts related to facilities they have access to.

Module Access
Select the permissions you wish to grant users for each module.

Recording Forms – For each recording form, select the type of permissions users with this user level should be granted.  The options are None (no access), Read Only, or Add/Edit (full access).  Users will still be limited to records associated with facilities they have access to.

Close – Select the recording forms that users should be able to close.  When a record is closed it is locked and made read only.  Only designated users may reopen records.

View Reports – Select the modules where users should be able to run reports.

 

Adding or Modify Users

To add a new user follow the steps below:

  1. Go to System Functions > Users
    • Click on the Add User link to add a new user.
    • Click on the User Summary link to view a list of existing users and click the System ID of the user you wish to modify
  2. Complete the required information and select the Save button.

When adding a user, enter their employee ID to allow that information to be auto filled on recording forms where appropriate.  If the user does not have a employee ID, leave this field blank (even though it is required).  The Employee ID must match a record in the employees table.

A user may be assigned to a single location or facility, or they may be given access to all locations within a business group, region, or division.  If a users access is restricted, they will only be able to view/access records associated with the facilities they are given access to.  For more information on setting up the hierarchy, please follow the following this link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *